Mount Union Announces 2017 M Club Hall of Fame Class & Special Award Winners; Ceremonies Sept. 22-23

Mount Union Announces 2017 M Club Hall of Fame Class & Special Award Winners; Ceremonies Sept. 22-23

The University of Mount Union M Club Hall of Fame will induct its 2017 class and give its special awards on Friday-Saturday, September 22-23.

A four-person hall of fame class includes Keri Canning '02 (women's basketball), Jeff Geiss '98 (cross country / track and field), Meghann Glass '02 (women's golf) and Chuck Moore '02 (football). 

The induction ceremony is on Friday, Sept. 22 at the Giese Center for the Performing Arts on campus at 6:30 p.m. with a reception will follow. All award recipients will be recognized at halftime of the football game on Saturday, Sept. 23 against Baldwin Wallace which begins at 1:30 p.m. at Mount Union Stadium. Game tickets are available at the gate for $10.

The event is free and open to the public. Please RSVP to the Office of Alumni Engagement at or 330-823-2030 to plan accordingly.


Keri Canning '02 (women's basketball), a native of Barberton, Ohio, was an All-American, a two-time All-Ohio Athletic Conference first team selection and the OAC Player of the Year in 2000. She led the conference in scoring in two different seasons and rebounding one season while her 1,605 points is currently the second highest career total at Mount Union.
Jeff Geiss '98 (cross country / track and field), a native of East Palestine, Ohio, was a three-time NCAA Cross Country Championship qualifier who posted All-American finishes in both 1996 (30th overall) and 1997 (17th overall). He also competed at the 1998 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships in both the 5,000 meters and 3,000 meter steeplechase. 
Meghann Glass '02 (women's golf), a native of Chester, W.Va., was a three-time All-Ohio Athletic Conference selection and two-time conference individual champion. She led the Purple Raiders to their first-ever OAC team title in 2002 and then went on to place third in the nation and earn All-American honors at the NCAA Division III Championships.
Chuck Moore '02 (football), a native of Mogadore, Ohio, was a member of three national championship football teams (1998, 2000, 2001) at Mount Union. He was awarded two national player of the year awards in 2001 winning both the Gagliardi Trophy and Melberger Award. He was a three-time first team All-America selection and a two-time Academic All-American. His 5,871 yards rushing on 908 carries with 91 rushing touchdowns are currently second all-time at Mount Union. He still holds school records in kickoff returns (54), kickoff return yards (1,699) and kickoff return touchdowns (2). In 2002, he was the OAC's Clyde Lamb Scholarship winner as the top male scholar athlete in the conference.
Dave Wolpert '69 will receive the Hugh Jae Award – an award to recognize M Club members who have distinguished themselves in service to the M Club.  The award is named for Hugh Jae, a 1954 Mount Union grad who was an M Club Hall of Famer, professor and administrator at Mount Union.
William Gough '71 will receive the Duke Barret Award of Excellence – an award to honor a member of M Club, in recognition for career experiences or activities that have brought honor and recognition to the individual and, in turn, Mount Union. This award is the highest honor, outside selection for the M Club Hall of Fame, that M Club may bestow upon an individual member.  The award is named for Duke Barret, a 1951 graduate who was an avid M Club member and chair of the HOF committee, former Mount Union football coach from 1956-61 and long-time supporter of Mount Union and Raider athletics.