#2 Mount Union Blanks Muskingum, 28-0 To Finish Regular Season Undefeated

Photo by JT Higgins
Photo by JT Higgins

NEW CONCORD, Ohio – Matt Piloto (Rotonda West, Fla./Lemon Bay) threw for 322 yards and three touchdowns as No. 2 ranked Mount Union completed its sixth straight undefeated regular season with a 28-0 shutout at Muskingum Saturday in New Concord.

It was the 21st perfect regular season for the Purple Raiders (10-0, 9-0), who extended their regular season win streak to 63 games and regular season road winning streak to 104 games.

Piloto had the first 300-yard passing performance for the Raiders since he came off the bench and threw for 325 yards against Bethel (Minn.) in the national semifinals of last year's NCAA Playoffs.

A.J. Claycomb (Medina/Medina) had a career-high 117 yards receiving on eight catches while Chris Denton (Plantation, Fla./South Plantation) had two touchdowns on nine catches for 64 yards.

Running back Jeremy Murray (Martins Ferry/Martins Ferry) had the other touchdown reception has he had two catches for 59 yards to go along with 74 yards rushing on 21 carries, while fellow running back Blair Skilliter (Curtice/Genoa) had a game-high 76 yards rushing on 10 carries.

Julius Moore (Lakeland, Fla./Kathleen Senior) had a seven-yard rushing touchdown on the first drive of the game as Mount Union led 21-0 at the half before going on to the 28-0 victory.

All of this was more than enough for the nation's No. 1 rated defense that held Muskingum (4-6, 3-6 OAC) to just eight first downs and 125 total yards while posting their third shutout of the season.

Nick Driskill (Wabash, Ind./Southwood) had 11 tackles and a pair of quarterback sacks, Isaiah Scott (Hamilton/Fairfield) had two interceptions and Jared Modrak (Clinton Twp., Mich./Chippewa Valley) also had two sacks to lead the unit.

Mount Union clinched the Ohio Athletic Conference title a week ago and will find out tomorrow at 6 pm on NCAA.com who they will play in the NCAA Playoffs that begin next Saturday at noon.

The Raiders have won a record 10 NCAA Division III National Championships and have played in the Stagg Bowl (National Championship game) 15 times including the last six years in a row.