Football: Mount Union's Vince Kehres, Kevin Burke and Mike Maier Honored at NFF Banquet March 4

Mount Union head football coach Vince Kehres along with quarterback Kevin Burke (Westlake/Lakewood St. Edward) and safety Mike Maier (Twinsburg/Twinsburg) will be honored at the 26th Northeastern Ohio chapter of the National Football Foundation banquet Tuesday, March 4 at LaCentre in Westlake, Ohio.

The Mount Union football program will be awarded the Bob Gain Collegiate Cup as the top college football program in Northeast Ohio this past year.

Kehres will receive the Lee Tressel College Coach of the Year award, presented by Jim Tressel. He led the Purple Raiders to their 22nd consecutive Ohio Athletic Conference crown (25th overall) and a 17th appearance in the national title game. His 14 wins is the most for a first-year football coach in school history.

Burke is the Joe Fogg Memorial Award winner as the top college football player in Northeast Ohio while Maier will receive a post-graduate scholarship as a Scholar Athlete award winner.

Burke was awarded the Gagliardi Trophy as the top all-around player in NCAA Division III football was the only returning starter on offense that finished  the nation's top scoring offense.

Maier started all 15 games at safety and had 63 tackles and two interceptions for the nation's No. 2 rated defense. 

The event held in conjunction with Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities will honor several local college and high school athletes and other notable figures will be honored during the ceremony.

Former Cleveland Browns player and current radio analyst Doug Dieken will receive the Distinguished American Award, while former Browns player Greg Pruitt will be given the Dino Lucarelli Lifetime Achievement Award.