Football: Chris Kappas Named Division III Coordinator of the Year

Football: Chris Kappas Named Division III Coordinator of the Year

University of Mount Union defensive coordinator Chris Kappas has been named Division III Coordinator of the Year by

Kappas led a unit that led Division III by allowing 197.6 yards per game and a scant 3.16 yards per play. The Purple Raiders were the only team in college football this fall to hold opponents under 200 yards per game.

They also led Division III in rushing defense by permitting only 828 yards and seven touchdowns on 506 carries — just 1.64 per carry. The Purple Raiders also put opposing passers on their backs 68 times this fall (4.53 per game), also the most in the nation.

Mount Union was also stout against the pass, allowing 216 completions on 431 attempts for only 2,136 yards (4.96 per attempt) with 11 touchdowns and 17 interceptions, good enough to rank seventh in Division III with a 92.28 opposing passer rating.

The Purple Raiders also led Division III in third down defense (21.4 percent conversion rate) and ranked 14th with 8.7 tackles for loss per game.

Last but not least, the defense led all of college football by allowing only 9.3 points per game. That figure includes holding eight of their 15 opponents to single digits and three shutouts.

Individually, defensive lineman Tom Lally was named a consensus All-American by, the Associated Press and the AFCA. Mount Union defenders swept the Ohio Athletic Conference defensive MVP awards, with Lally earning the league's top defensive lineman honor, Tre Jones winning the Lee Tressel Award as the OAC's top defensive back, and Hank Spencer claiming the Gene Slaughter Award as the conference's best linebacker. All told, seven Purple Raiders made the All-OAC first team defense.

Kappas is a Mount Union graduate. After graduating in 2008, Kappas spent three years coaching with Mount Union before a three-year stint at Bowling Green. Now in his second run with the Purple Raiders, Kappas recently completed his third season as the club's defensive play-caller.

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by ProGrass are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. 

Kappas will be recognized at an event at the AFCA Convention next week.

FootballScoop Division III Coordinator of the Year past winner

2008 - Glen Fowles - Williamette (Ore.)

2009 - Jim Zebrowski - Wisconsin-Whitewater

2010 - Vince Kehres - Mount Union

2011 - Wallie Kuchinski - St Thomas [Minn.]

2012 - John O'Grady - Wisconsin-Oshkosh

2013 - Brian Borland - Wisconsin-Whitewater

2014 - Jackson Vaughan - Linfield (Ore.)