Football: Six Special Awards For Raiders Headline All-OAC Teams

Danny Robinson, D'Angelo Fulford, Louis Berry, Justin Hill, Geoff Dartt and Vince Kehres
Danny Robinson, D'Angelo Fulford, Louis Berry, Justin Hill, Geoff Dartt and Vince Kehres

AUSTINTOWN, Ohio – Four Mount Union players and two coaches have earned special awards to headline the All-Ohio Athletic Conference teams selected by the conference's 10 head coaches.

Juniors D'Angelo Fulford (Miramar, Fla.) and Justin Hill (Circleville) earned the Bob Packard Offense Back of the Year and Ed Sherman Wide Receiver of the Year awards for the second straight season.

Seniors Danny Robinson (Massillon / Washington) and Louis Berry (Pittsburgh, Pa. / Shady Side Academy) won the Gene Slaughter Linebacker of the Year award and Lee Tressel Defensive Back of the Year award.

The other two awards went to Vince Kehres as OAC Coach of the Year and Geoff Dartt as OAC Assistant Coach of the Year.

Fulford is nation's highest rated quarterback with a 208.4 rating and threw 32 touchdowns to just one interception in the regular season. Named for former Baldwin Wallace head coach Bob Packard it is the 21st time a Mount Union quarterback or running back has won the award and he is the first winner in back-to-back seasons since Mount Union's Bill Borchert in 1996 and 1997.

Hill had three 100-yard receiving games this year with 10 touchdown catches. The award is named after former Muskingum head coach Ed Sherman and it is the 12th time a Mount Union player has won the award and first back-to-back winner since Heidelberg's Demetrius Magee in 2016 and 2017.

Robinson is a team captain and leads the Raider defense in tackles. The award is named for former Capital head coach Gene Slaughter and it is the 12th time a Mount Union linebacker has won the award and first since Hank Spencer in 2015.

Berry is a team captain and has four interceptions and two fumble returns and has scored five defensive touchdowns for a defense that has scored 12 touchdowns on the season. The award is named for former Baldwin Wallace coach Lee Tressel and it is the 13th time a Mount Union defensive back has won the award and first since Tre Jones in 2015.

Kehres is the OAC Coach of the Year for the third time in his six seasons as Raiders head coach. He has an 81-4 record which is the most wins by a college football coach over the last six seasons and won his fifth conference title as head coach this season. It is the 10th time a Mount Union coach has won the award as Larry Kehres got the award six times and Ken Wable in 1985.

Dartt returned the Mount Union coaching staff this season and has aided an offense that is second in the nation in the scoring at 54.5 points per game. It is his second stint on the Raiders staff as he spent five seasons as an assistant coach and the Port Clinton, Ohio, native played on three national championship teams at Mount Union. Dartt also earned this award in 2013 and it is the seventh time a Mount Union coach has been given the award.

Along with Fulford, Hill, Robinson and Berry, Mount Union's other All-OAC first team selections included senior receiver Luke Herrington (Wintersville / Steubenville), junior offensive lineman Brendan Klaus (Brighton, Mich.), sophomore running back Josh Petruccelli (Perry), junior defensive lineman Andrew Roesch (Avon), junior linebacker Trey Williams (Cardington / Cardington-Lincoln), junior defensive back Gabe Brown (Plant City, Fla. / Durant) and senior safety Austin White (Wadsworth).

All-conference second team selections are senior receiver Jared Ruth (Indianapolis, Ind. / Pike), junior center Tavis Stika (Creston / Norwayne), junior offensive lineman Sean Sherman (Springboro / Middletown Fenwick), senior defensive lineman Nick Brish (Brighton, Mich.), sophomore linebacker Mitch O'Hara (Avon / Lakewood St. Edward), senior defensive back Trevor Cox (Hilliard / Darby) and sophomore special teamer Malik Britt (Bossier City, La. / Airline).

Rounding out the honorees are honorable mention picks in senior punter Adam Snyder (Baltimore / Liberty Union) and junior defensive lineman Ethan McComb (Huntingtown, Md.).

Mount Union won its 29 th conference title in 2018, the Raiders are 11-0 and host Centre (Ky.) in a second round game of the NCAA Playoffs Saturday, Nov. 24 at noon.