Football: #1 Mount Union Hosts #13 Johns Hopkins in NCAA Semifinal Saturday

Football: #1 Mount Union Hosts #13 Johns Hopkins in NCAA Semifinal Saturday
No. 1 ranked University of Mount Union hosts No. 13 ranked Johns Hopkins (Md.) University in national semifinals of the 2018 NCAA Division III Football Playoffs Saturday, Dec. 8 at 12 p.m. at Mount Union Stadium.
The Purple Raiders are 13-0 overall, defeated Denison 60-0 in the first round, Centre (Ky.) 51-35 in the second round then Muhlenberg (Pa.) in the quarterfinals 38-10 and have college football's longest win streak at 28 games.
Mount Union won its 29th Ohio Athletic Conference title to claim one of 26 automatic bids to the tournament. Mount Union is in its 30th tournament appearance and has an 102-16 record in NCAA Playoff games and the Raiders have advanced to the Stagg Bowl 20 times since 1993 with a record 13 National Championships. 
Johns Hopkins, located in Baltimore, Md., is 12-1 overall and defeated MIT, 49-0, in the first round, went to No. 6 Frostburg State (Md.) in the second round and won 58-27 then came home to beat RPI (N.Y.) 37-14 in the quarterfinals.   
The Blue Jays got in the tournament by winning the Centennial Conference title and are in the semifinals for the first time while making their 10th playoff appearance with a 9-9 record in playoff games. 
This will be the third-ever meeting between between the schools. Mount Union has won each of the previous meetings both in playoff games -- 55-13 in a 2012 second round game in Ohio and a 28-21 2016 second round win in Baltimore. 
ESPN will broadcast live on ESPN3, its digital platform, and the ESPN mobile app.
The game will also be broadcast on the radio on WDPN 1310 AM and WRMU 91.1 FM and simulcast online along with a LIVE STATS game tracker. You can also hear the WRMU 91.1 FM feed on any phone by calling (563) 999-3112.
The winner of this game advances to the national championship game -- Stagg Bowl -- against either No. 2 Mary Hardin-Baylor or No. 4 Wisconsin-Whitewater Friday, Dec. 14 at 7 p.m. at Woodforest Stadium in Shenandoah, Texas.