Football: Mount Union's Berry & Fulford Named AFCA All-Americans

Football: Mount Union's Berry & Fulford Named AFCA All-Americans

WACO, Texas -- Mount Union senior defensive back Louis Berry (Pittsburgh, Pa. / Shady Side Academy) and junior quarterback D'Angelo Fulford (Miramar, Fla.) have been named to the American Football Coaches Association All-America teams.

Berry is a first team defensive back who has started all 14 games so far this season for the Purple Raiders. He has scored six of Mount Union's nation leading 15 defensive touchdowns this season with an NCAA Division III record four interception returns for a score, two fumble returns for scores. In fact he has had a hand in two more defensive touchdowns as he has blocked a pair of field goal attempts that were returned for scores. He was also named the Ohio Athletic Conference Lee Tressel Defensive Back of the Year and was an all-conference first team selection.

Fulford has played in 13 games and been at the helm of the nation's No. 2 scoring offense (51.1 points per game). He has completed 64-percent of his passes for 2,643 yards with 37 touchdowns. He was named the OAC's Bob Packard Offensive Back of the Year for a second straight year along with being an All-OAC first team pick.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team every year since 1945. The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. In 2016, the AFCA added a second team All-America.

Top Teams: Mount Union has been represented a total of 28 times by 26 players on the AFCA Division III Coaches' All-America Team since 1972. The Purple Raiders are followed by Linfield (23/21), Mary Hardin-Baylor (21/19), Wittenberg (21/19), Washington & Jefferson (21/18), Wisconsin-Whitewater (20/18), Augustana (Ill.) (19/17), Wisconsin-La Crosse (18/18), Wheaton (17/16), Springfield (17/14), Widener (17/13), St. John's (Minn.) (16/16), Wesley (16/13), Central (Iowa) (15/14), Montclair State (15/13), Ithaca (14/14), St. Thomas (Minn.) (14/11), Emory & Henry (13/13), Frostburg State (13/12), John Carroll (12/12), Salisbury (12/12), Wabash (11/11), Hampden-Sydney (11/10) and Thomas More (11/9).

Consecutive Years: With Louis Berry's and D'Angelo Fulford's selections in 2018, Mount Union has had a player chosen to the AFCA All-America Team for eight straight seasons (2011-18), the longest active streak. Wesley had a player chosen for 11 consecutive years, from 2005-15, which is the longest streak in AFCA Division III All-America Team history. Second on the list is Mount Union, which had a player chosen for 10 consecutive years, from 2000-09. Tied for third on the list are Washington & Jefferson, which had a player chosen for nine straight seasons (2002-10), and Mary Hardin-Baylor, which had a player chosen from 2006 to 2014. Emory & Henry is fourth on the list, having had a player named AFCA All-American for eight straight seasons from 1985-1992. Augustana (Ill.) and Wheaton have had players selected for six consecutive seasons from 2000-05 and 2003-08, respectively.

Mount Union is 14-0 and the Raiders play in the NCAA Division III national title game -- Stagg Bowl -- against Mary Hardin-Baylor Friday, Dec. 14 at 7 p.m. in Shenandoah, Texas.