Football: Three Raiders Named to AP All-American Team

Football: Three Raiders Named to AP All-American Team

Three Mount Union football players have been named to the Associated Press Division III All-America team.

Seniors in wide receiver Justin Hill (Circleville) and left tackle Sean Sherman (Springboro / Bishop Fenwick) along with junior defensive back Kordell Ford (Massillon / Massillon Washington) were selected by a panel of sports information directors and the AP.

Hill earned his third AP All-America honor as he was named to the second team in 2017 and 2018. This season Hill finished with 80 receptions for 1,681 yards and 23 touchdowns. The 23 touchdowns tied the school single-season record set by Cecil Shorts in 2008 while the yards were fifth-best in school history. He ranks fourth in Mount Union history with 208 career catches for 4,153 yards (third all-time) and 61 TDs (second all-time). Hill was a three-time All-Ohio Athletic Conference first team selection and won the Ed Sherman Award as the conference's top receiver three straight years.

Hill is the fifth player in Mount Union history to be named to an All-America team three times, joining Bill Borchert (1995-97), Chuck Moore (1999-01), Nate Kmic (2006-08) and Kevin Burke (2012-14).

Sherman won the Ken Wable Award winner as the top offensive lineman in the OAC. He led an offensive line that paved the way for the Purple Raiders to lead Division III in scoring (55.2 points per game) and team pass efficiency and rank second in third down conversions (56.1%) and third in passing offense (344 yards per game).

Ford had 53 tackles, including eight for losses and two sacks, a fumble recovery and an interception. He was named to the All-OAC first team and received the Lee Tressel Award as the conference's top defensive back. Ford has also been nominated for the Cliff Harris Award as the top small college defensive player in the nation.

Since 1959 Mount Union has had 103 players and 139 total selections named to the All-America team.

Mount Union went 11-1 in 2019 and won its record 30th OAC title.

AP Division III All-America Team



Quarterback — Broc Rutter, senior, North Central (Ill.).

Running backs — Robert Shufford, junior, Birmingham-Southern; Ethan Greenfield, sophomore, North Central (Ill.).

Linemen — Sharmore Clarke, junior, North Central (Ill.); Quinn Meinerz, junior, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Nic Vetter, senior, Wartburg; Sean Sherman, senior, Mount Union; Dan Greenheck, senior, St. John's.

Tight end — Ryan Curtiss, senior, Muhlenberg.

Receivers — Andrew Kamienski, junior, North Central (Ill.); Justin Hill, senior, Mount Union.

All-purpose player — Willie Julkes III, senior, Concordia-Moorhead.

Kicker — Anthony Avila, sophomore, Mary Hardin-Baylor.


Linemen — Frankie Feaster, senior, Muhlenberg; Dallas McRae, senior, Wheaton (Ill.); Joey Longoria, senior, Mary Hardin-Baylor; Michael Nobile, sophomore, Delaware Valley.

Linebackers — Scottie Bobeck, senior, Benedictine; Dante Capozzoli, junior, Kean; Anton Clark, senior, East Texas Baptist.

Secondary — Jeff Hector, senior, Redlands; Spencer Rowland, senior, Wheaton (Ill.); Jake Beesley, junior, North Central (Ill.); Kordell Ford, junior, Mount Union.

Punter — Zach Warcola, senior, College of New Jersey.



Quarterback — Jackson Erdmann, senior, St.John's.

Running backs — Alex Minton, senior, Denison; Wesley Schools, senior, Grove City.

Linemen — Ben Bartch, senior, St. John's; Joe Krall, senior, Monmouth (Ill.); Tyler Norwood, senior, Salisbury; Ryan Malarkey, senior, Muhlenberg; Steven Sellers, junior, Mary Hardin-Baylor.

Tight end — Dan Allen, senior, Delaware Valley.

Receivers — Ruhann Peele, senior, Wesley (Del.); Ravi Alston, sophomore, St. John's; Samuel Staehling, senior, St. Norbert.

All-purpose player — Brock Martin, sophomore, Ohio Northern.

Kicker — Jaydon Haaq, sophomore, Wisconsin-Oshkosh.


Linemen — Jordan McInerney, senior, Lake Forest; Danny Pietruszewski, junior, St. John's; Tim Ousley, senior, Muskingum; Mike Williams, senior, Washington & Jefferson.

Linebackers — Mason Dekker, senior, Hope; Emmet Forde, junior, Hobart; Nick Garone, senior, Ithaca.

Secondary — Peyton Haynes, senior, LaGrange; Blaze Barista, senior, Dubuque; Danial Shelton, senior, Susquehanna; Tramon Wiley, junior, Heidelberg.

Punter — Alex Berg, senior, Concordia-Moorhead.