Bower-Malone and Fuline Headline All-OAC Men's Basketball Selections

Bower-Malone and Fuline Headline All-OAC Men's Basketball Selections

AUSTINTOWN, Ohio -- Mount Union senior guard Nathan Bower-Malone (Stow) was named the Dick Reynolds Ohio Athletic Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Year while ninth year head coach Mike Fuline was named OAC Coach of Year to headline the all-conference selections.

Senior D'Vontay Friga (Cuyahoga Falls) joined Bower-Malone on the the All-OAC first team while sophomore Collen Gurley (Akron / Hoban) was named to the All-OAC second team.

Bower-Malone is only the third Purple Raider in program history to earn OAC Player of the Year honors joining Aaron Shipp (1996-97) and DeAllen Jackson (2016-17).

Bower-Malone led the conference in assists at 5.4 assists per game and free-throw percentage at 87.9-percent and was ranked in the top 10 in the OAC in points per game (4th), free throws made per game (4th), minutes (7th) and field goals made per game (9th).  

He is the 32nd Mount Union player to score over 1,000 career points and had a career-high 36 points in a 107-70 win against then No. 6 ranked Marietta earlier this season.

It marks the third time Bower-Malone has been on the all-conference team as he was an All-OAC first team selection in 2018-19 and honorable mention selection in 2017-18.

Fuline earned his second OAC Coach of the Year honors with his other coming in 2014. He led the Raiders to their best regular season in school history and a fifth 20-win season in school history with back to back regular season conference titles.

Friga on the all-conference team for a first time, comes off the bench averaging 15.2 points per game and is the team's second leading rebounder at 4.8 rebounds per game.

Gurley is on the All-OAC second team for a second straight year after earning OAC Freshman of the Year honors a year ago. This season he is averaging 16.2 points per game.

Mount Union takes on Heidelberg in the semifinals of the OAC Tournament Thursday, February 27 at 7:00 p.m. in Alliance, Ohio.