Men’s Golf Finishes Second At OAC Spring Invitational

Men’s Golf Finishes Second At OAC Spring Invitational

SUNBURY, Ohio - - Mount Union's men's golf team finished second at the Ohio Athletic Conference Spring Invitational held at Rattlesnake Ridge Golf Club. 

The Purple Raiders totaled 777 strokes on the 7,012 yard par 72 course which was 41 strokes behind first place Otterbein (736). 

The eight teams competing at the Invitational were originally scheduled to play 54 holes, but due to rain the coaches applied the OAC rules on the most number of holes completed by the field, which was 45. 

Mount Union had three golfers finish in the top ten. Freshman Justin Schoen (Bellevue/Bellevue) led the way with 189 (72-81-36) which was good for fifth place, senior Jon Lieser (Minerva/Minerva) finished in sixth place with a 193 (75-82-36) and junior Dillon Bright (Granville/Granville) finished in a tie for tenth with a 196 (76-79-41). 

Taylor Harle (Otterbein) finished the event with the lowest individual score of 180 (72-73-35). 

With the lowest combined scores from the OAC fall and spring invitational, Otterbein won the OAC regular-season championship. The Cardinals total of 1,393 was nine shots better than John Carroll (1,402) who finished in second place. Mount Union finished in fifth place with a total of 1,439. 

Mount Union returns to the links April 20-21 when it competes in the Nye Intercollegiate held at the Wooster Country Club in Wooster, Ohio. 

Team Standings

1 Otterbein  736

2 Mount Union 777

3  Capital 790

4 John Carroll 794 

5 Ohio Northern 801

6 Muskingum 804

7 Baldwin Wallace 820

8 Heidelberg 898

Mount Union

5 Justin Schoen 72-81-36-189, 6 Jon Lieser 75-82-36-193, T 10 Dillon Bright 76-79-41 196, T 15 Ben Lehrke 81-79-39 199, T 29 Nick Popely 81-83-42-206

Top 5 Individuals

1 Taylor Harle (Otterbein) 180, 2 David Monaco (Otterbein) 184, T 3 Nicholas Rhodes (Otterbein) 186, T 3 Luke Kindelin (Otterbein) 186, 5 Justin Schoen (Mount Union) 189


OAC Regular Season Standings (Fall+Spring)

Otterbein: 1,393

John Carroll: 1,402

Capital: 1,419

Ohio Northern: 1,423

Mount Union: 1,439

Muskingum: 1,458

Baldwin Wallace: 1,476

Heidelberg: 1,612