Men’s Golf: Raiders Finish Strong on Final Day of OAC Championships

Luke Engle
Luke Engle

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ohio--Mount Union's men's golf team wrapped up the final day of the Ohio Athletic Conference Championships with a sixth place finish after a three-day total team score of 1218 (304-308-312-294) at River Greens Golf Course.

The Purple Raiders 1218 was three strokes behind fifth-place Heidelberg who tallied a three day total of 1215. 

Otterbein won its fifth consecutive OAC Championship with scores of 284-293-299-286=1162 which was 43 shots better than second place Baldwin Wallace 306-287-312-297=1205.

Mount Union was led on the final day by senior Luke Engle (Zanesville / Maysville) who improved his score on the third day shooting a 74 to finish tied 14th.

Fellow classmate Sean Croell (Newton Falls) and junior Matt Eddins (Louisville) each carded round scores of 76 while seniors Andrew Thompson (New Albany) and Tyler Ellis (Brook Park / Berea-Midpark) each collected a 72 to round out the Mount Union scorecard.

Sam Marty of Otterbein was the medalist as he posted a one-under 69-71-74-73=287 over the 72-hole stretch.

The top 14 individuals in the tournament earn All-OAC honors.

OAC Men's Championship

River Greens Golf Course - Pines Greens 2019 - Par 72 - 6672 Yards

West Lafayette, Ohio

Team Standings

1. Otterbein 284-293-299-286=1162, 2. Baldwin Wallace 306-287-312-297=1205, T3. Marietta 309-300-308-294, T3. John Carroll 299-307-298-307=1211, 5. Heidelberg 299-307-312-296=1215, 6. Mount Union 304-308-312-294=1218, 7. Muskingum 305-306-316-304=1231, Capital 316-314-307-296=1233, 9. Ohio Northern 316-314-307-296=1233

ALL-OAC (Top 14 and ties)

1. Sam Marty (Otterbein) 69-71-74-73=287, 2. Spencer Jordan (Otterbein) 73-75-74-70=292, T3. Johnny Peck (Otterbein) 72-75-75-71=293, T3. Tyler Dunfee (Otterbein) 73-72-76-72=293, 5. Kurt Fortman (Otterbein) 70-75-77-73=295, T6. Andrew Sikorski (Heidelberg) 73-73-79-72=297, T6. Brenton Franks (Muskingum) 72-78-74-73=297, 8. Logan Holbrook (Capital) 73-76-74-75=298, T9. Devin Webster (Marietta) 79-72-76-72=299, T9. Jimmy Clark (Baldwin Wallace) 73-74-79-73=299, 11. Hunter Miller (Baldwin Wallace) 75-72-82-73=302, 12. Ron Shin (Baldwin Wallace) 78-72-75-78=303, T13. Luke Engle (Mount Union) 75-75-80-74-304, T13. Dylan Tucker (Marietta) 77-74-75-78=304, T13. Nolan Laughlin (John Carroll) 76-73-72-83=304

Mount Union

T13. Luke Engle 75-75-80-74=304, 23. Sean Croell 78-79-75-76=308, 24. Matt Eddins 75-78-80-76-309, T25. Andrew Thompson 85-76-77-72=310, T37. Tyler Ellis 76-81-86-72=315