March 22, 2014

Men's Lacrosse: Daley's Goal in Final Minute Lifts Mount Union to Fourth Straight Win

ALLIANCE, Ohio -- Freshman Chris Daley (Wilmington, Del./Dupont) scored the game winning goal with 36 seconds to play to lift Mount Union's men's lacrosse team to a 6-5 win over Trine (Ind.) Saturday at Mount Union Stadium.

The Purple Raiders are 5-3 overall and have won four straight games which is the longest win streak since the rebirth of the program after a near 20 year hiatus last season.

Trine (0-6) started the scoring with a goal from Paul Carlquist 2:13 into the game then Michael Taylor (Broadview Hts/Brecksville-Broadview Hts) tied the game with a man down goal at the 5:49 mark as the first quarter ended 1-1.

The Thunder scored twice in the span of 43 seconds almost midway through the second quarter to go up 3-1 and Daley scored with 4:57 left in the period to close the deficit to 3-2 at the half.

Taylor tied the game with a goal for the Raiders in the first three minutes of the third quarter and Mount Union took a 5-3 lead on back-to-back goals from Stephen Jones (Hudson/Hudson) at 10:49 and 4:26 left in the quarter.  Jake Ahearn scored for Trine right before the end of the period and it was 5-4 heading to the fourth.

Ahearn tied the game with a goal with 3:17 left in regulation before Daley scored the game-winner.

Jones had two goals and an assist while Daley and Taylor each had two goals for the Raiders.

Collin Peters (Portland, Ore./Sunset) had 17 saves in goal to pick up his fifth win for Mount Union.

The Raiders next play Wednesday, March 26 at 7 pm at Bethany (W.Va.) College in Bethany, West Virginia.

Trine (Ind.) (0-6) 1 2 1 1 5
Mount Union (5-3) 1 1 3 1 6
-- 1st -- Trine (Ind.) Mount Union
Trine (Ind.) 12:47 Paul Carlquist (unassisted) 1 0
Mount Union 05:49 DN - Michael Taylor (unassisted) 1 1
-- 2nd -- Trine (Ind.) Mount Union
Trine (Ind.) 09:44 Chris Ward (unassisted) 2 1
Trine (Ind.) 09:01 Patrick Walker (Brandon Walters) 3 1
Mount Union 04:57 Chris Daley (Derek Thomas) 3 2
-- 3rd -- Trine (Ind.) Mount Union
Mount Union 12:17 Michael Taylor (Stephen Jones) 3 3
Mount Union 10:49 Stephen Jones (unassisted) 3 4
Mount Union 04:26 Stephen Jones (unassisted) 3 5
Trine (Ind.) 00:27 Jake Ahearn (unassisted) 4 5
-- 4th -- Trine (Ind.) Mount Union
Trine (Ind.) 03:17 Jake Ahearn (unassisted) 5 5
Mount Union 00:36 Chris Daley (unassisted) 5 6


View: Mobile | Desktop