Men's Tennis: John Carroll Edges Past Raiders for OAC Title

Mark Beebe and Jackson Schneider
Mark Beebe and Jackson Schneider

MASON, Ohio -- No. 2 seed Mount Union falls to No. 1 John Carroll 5-3 in the Ohio Athletic Conference Tournament Finals Saturday afternoon.

The Purple Raiders started the day with a commanding 3-0 lead after sweeping doubles at the Lindner Family Tennis Center.

The No. 2 and No. 3 pairings of Jackson Schneider (Oregon, Wis./Oregon) and Mark Beebe (Chardon/Notre Dame Cathedral Laton), Antonio Massucci (Ashtabula/St. John) and Justin Kelley (Uniontown/Lake) held John Carroll to scores of 8-2 and 8-1, respectively.

First position team of Robert Cross (North Canton/Hoover) and Zach Teffner (Cortland/Lakeview) won their doubles match in a 9-7 tiebreaking thriller.

Inclement weather conditions moved the singles matches to South Regency Tennis Club in Miamisburg, Ohio.

John Carroll came stroming back in singles play to win five straight matches, ultimately securing the tournament title with a final score of 5-3. Freshman Justin Kelley put up a fight in the No. 6 singles match, pushing it to a competitive third.

With the win, John Carroll captures their fifth consecutive OAC title.

Senior Jackson Schneider went 1-1 on the day, tabbing his 109th career win. Schneider ends with a record of 109-34, tying for the fifth most career wins in Mount Union men's tennis history.

Mount Union's 2017-18 season comes to a close with an overall record of 14-4 and 7-1 in the OAC. 

John Carroll 5, Mount Union 3
Singles competition:
1. Gustavo Garcia (JCU-M) vs. Robert Cross (MTU) 6-3, 6-6, unfinished 
2. David Sinense (JCU-M) def. Jackson Schneider (MTU) 6-1, 6-1
3. Tyler Cole (JCU-M) def. Zach Teffner (MTU) 6-1, 6-1
4. Andy Siciliano (JCU-M) def. Antonio Massucci (MTU) 6-2, 6-0
5. Adi Jha (JCU-M) def. Mark Beebe (MTU) 6-3, 6-3
6. Scott Adsit (JCU-M) def. Justin Kelley (MTU) 6-0, 4-6, 6-2
Doubles competition:
1. Robert Cross/Zach Teffner (MTU) def. Dillon O'Brien/Gustavo Garcia (JCU-M) 9-7
2. Jackson Schneider/Mark Beebe (MTU) def. David Sinense/Andy Siciliano (JCU-M) 8-2
3. Antonio Massucci/Justin Kelley (MTU) def. Tyler Cole/Parker Holyn (JCU-M) 8-1