Mount Union to Host 2014 OAC Indoor Track & Field Championships Friday and Saturday

Mount Union to Host 2014 OAC Indoor Track & Field Championships Friday and Saturday

The 2014 Ohio Athletic Conference Indoor Track & Field Championships will be held Friday, February 28 and Saturday, March 1 at Peterson Fieldhouse at the University of Mount Union in Alliance.

The top three finishers in every event earn All-OAC honors.

Mount Union swept both men's and women's team titles a year ago.  The Purple Raider men's team won its conference record 32nd title, John Carroll was in second place, followed by Marietta, Otterbein and Ohio Northern to round out the top five.  The Mount Union women's team won their second straight and third overall title with a conference record 214 points and were followed in the standings by Otterbein in second place, Ohio Northern in third while Capital and Marietta finished the top five.

Headlining the returning conference champions on the men's side is Mount Union's Tyler Mettille.  Mettille was the Don Frail Most Outstanding Sprint Athlete a year ago as he won conference titles in the 400 meters, 4x200 meter relay and set a conference record with a win in the 200 meters.

Mettille's teammates on the 4x200 meter relay team also return along with shot put and weight throw champion Sean Donnelly, 500 meter champion Tyler Sparks and 800 meter champion Scott Whisler are all back to defend their titles for a Raider team that is ranked No. 5 in the nation this season.

Other conference champions returning are 60 meter hurdle champ Ryan Lopez-Jordan from Marietta, three members of the winning 4x400 meter relay team from Muskingum – Aaron Perkins, Marty Vajen and Alvin Taylor along with 1000 meter winner Andrew Mantell from Otterbein.  Mantell and Joey Montoya were also part of the conference champion distance medley relay team for the Cardinals in 2013.

On the women's side, defending champion Mount Union returns a number of conference champions from a year ago topped by Courtney Reese, Emily Mazzaferri and Veronica Clutter.  Reese is the defending 500 meter champ and Mazzaferri is the reigning 800 meter champ while the duo along with Lisa Brasdovich are three members of the champion 4x400 meter relay team from a year ago.  Clutter won the long jump and returns along with Taylor Coghlan and Brasdovich on the champion 4x200 meter relay team.

Other returning conference champions returning include Muskingum's Tanisha Ford in the weight throw, Marietta's Dana Vandervort in the triple jump, Otterbein's Rachel McKeever in the 60 meter hurdles and John Carroll's Nicki Boher in the 1000 meters.

Mount Union is hosting the indoor championships for the first time since Peterson Fieldhouse was remodeled and is now at part of the McPherson Academic and Athletic Complex in 2009.  The Purple Raiders will also host the 2017 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field National Championships at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio.