Track & Field: #6 Mount Union Sends Eight to NCAA Championships This Week

Track & Field: #6 Mount Union Sends Eight to NCAA Championships This Week

Mount Union's men's indoor track and field team, ranked No. 6 in the nation, will send eight student-athletes to the NCAA Division III Championships Friday and Saturday at the Devaney Sports Center in Lincoln, Nebraska.

All-American juniors Sean Donnelly (Willoughby/Willoughby South) and Tyler Mettille (Canfield/Canfield) headline the field as each are qualified in two events.

Donnelly will compete Friday at 5:30 pm in the weight throw, where he is ranked No. 1 in the nation at 68-5, and Saturday at 2:30 pm in the shot put as the No. 3 seed (57-1.5).

A two-time All-American outdoors (1 in shot put, 1 in hammer throw), Donnelly earned Ohio Athletic Conference Field Athlete of the Meet honors winning titles in shot put and hammer throw at the OAC Championships two weeks ago.

Mettille runs in the 400 meter prelims Friday at 3:50 pm as the No. 3 seed with a time of 48.10.

He also combines with fellow junior Chase Swisher (Lewis Center/Olentangy Orange) and sophomores Chad Gentry (Louisville/Louisville) and Tyler Sparks (Norwalk/Norwalk) in the 4x400 meter relay Saturday at 6 pm as the No. 7 seed (3:15.45).

Mettille, who won All-American honors in the heptathlon indoors and the 400 meter hurdles outdoors in 2013, earned his second straight OAC Sprinter of the Meet honors at the OAC Championships two weeks ago.

Freshman Zach Wukotich (Salem/Salem) is seeded sixth in the high jump (6-10.25) and competes Saturday at 11 am.

Junior Gerardo Vargas (Painesville/Harvey) is seeded 15th in the pole vault (15-8.25) and competes Friday at 12 pm.

Sophomore Andrew Milhoan (East Sparta/Sandy Valley), who finished 10th in the heptathlon at the NCAA meet a year ago, is seeded fourth this year with a school record point total of 5,134 points.

The heptathlon is seven events -- 60 meter dash, long jump, shot put, high jump, 60 meter hurdles, pole vault and 1000 meters. 

The top eight finishers in each event earn All-American honors.