Men's Track & Field: No. 8 Mount Union Looks For Eighth Straight OAC Title

Mason Plant (photo by Joe Colon)
Mason Plant (photo by Joe Colon)

Mount Union's men's track and field team, ranked No. 8 in the nation, will look to win its eighth straight title at the 2018 Ohio Athletic Conference Championships at Ohio Northern University Friday and Saturday in Ada.

The Purple Raiders won their conference record 35th team title a year ago and piled up a record 272 points which was 147.5 points ahead of second place Ohio Northern (124.5 points).

Four-time OAC Men's Outdoor Track Coach of the Year Kevin Lucas returns a number of student-athletes this year ranked among the conference's best.

In the men's 400 meters, the Raiders have five of the conference's top six times topped by reigining conference champ AJ Digby (Tontogany / Otsego) and James Roth (Massillon / Perry) while both of them along with Sam Printy (Sandusky / Perkins) and Clark Etzler (Elida) are in the top spot in the 4x400 meter relay.

Three other top seeds belong to Jaquill Scott (East Hanover, N.J. / Hanover Park) in the javelin, Matt Keim (Bolivar / Tusky Valley) in the pole vault and Mason Plant (Shreve / Triway) in the 110 meter hurdles. Scott and Keim are the defending conference champions while Plant placed second last year.

Louis Berry (Pittsburgh, Pa. / Shady Side Academy) swept both the 100 and 200 meter titles a year ago and comes into this meet seeded second in the 100 and sixth in the 200 while along with Jalen McGill (Laurel, Md. / High Point), Kendall Shadie (Akron / St. Vincent-St. Mary) and Darian Littlejohn (Fulton, Md. / Reservoir) sit second in the 4x100 meter relay.

McGill is also the second seed in the long jump and other high seeds include Raphael Tshikala (Rochester, N.Y. / Greece Olympia) and Tanner Slack (New Concord / John Glenn) who are second and third in the triple jump, Bryce Biskup (Irwin, Pa. / Penn-Trafford) second in the javelin and Connor Brogan (Dover) is second in the hammer throw.

The top three finishers in each event earn All-OAC honors.