Mount Union's Amanda Rose Named Academic All-District Women's Basketball

Amanda Rose
Amanda Rose

DELAWARE, Ohio—Mount Union senior forward Amanda Rose (Green/Green) has been selected to the 2012 Capital One Academic All-District 7 Women's Basketball Second Team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

A two-time Academic All-Ohio Athletic Conference pick, Rose carries a 3.95 grade point average as a business administration major.

On the court, she is the top rebounder (5.3 per game) and third leading scorer (10.7 points per game) for a Purple Raider squad that is ranked No. 10 in the nation and matched a school record with 14 straight wins.  In her time in the program, Mount Union has won two OAC Tournament titles, an OAC regular season title and made a pair of NCAA Tournament appearances highlighted by a Sweet 16 run in 2010.

She has never missed a game in her college career playing in 106 games with 103 starts over the last four seasons and is 21 points from being the 13th player in school history to score over 1,000 career points.

Off the court, the former OAC Scholar Athlete of the Month winner completed an internship with Fanny Mae Chocolates factory in North Canton and has worked in the Mount Union human resources office. 

Her father Dennis also played basketball at Mount Union and is a 1975 graduate.

The Capital One Academic All-District Teams recognize the nation's top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. In order to be eligible for selection, a student-athlete must be a starter or key reserve and maintain at least a 3.30 grade point average.

Sports Information Directors within a district vote for the Academic All-District teams with members of the CoSIDA Academic All-American committee voting on the national ballot. District VII includes every NCAA Division III institution in Ohio, Illinois, and Indiana.

Mount Union sports information director Leonard Reich is in his 10th year as a member of CoSIDA's Academic All-America National Committee.