Women's Basketball: Purple Raiders Fall to Otterbein

Abbey Bartoszewicz (Photo by Joe Colon)
Abbey Bartoszewicz (Photo by Joe Colon)

WESTERVILLE, Ohio - The Mount Union women's basketball team's four-game win streak ended after facing a 67-57 loss to Ohio Athletic Conference opponent Otterbein Saturday afternoon.

Sophomore Jaime Sanborn (Twinsburg/Twinsburg) recorded a double-double with 14 points and 14 total rebounds to lead Mount Union (8-5, 3-3 OAC). Junior Casey Morrissette (Wakeman/Firelands) and senior Abbey Bartoszewicz (Wexford, Pa./Vincentian Academy) followed with 10 and nine points, respectively. 

Otterbein (6-7, 2-4 OAC) was led by Kiersten Taylor, who put up 22 points and seven rebounds. 

The lead changed three times early in the first quarter, but the Cardinals gained enough momentum to run away from the Raiders in the first 10 minutes of play, leaving Mount Union trailing 21-13 as the teams headed into the second quarter. Bartoszewicz recorded three three-pointers in under two minutes in the first quarter, recording nine of the Raiders 13 first quarter points.  

Mount Union went on a 21-13 second quarter run to overtake the Cardinals and hold a 36-34 lead as the teams went into halftime. Morrissette put up six points, coming from a three-point jump-shot and three free throws, while sophomore Renee DeFord (Casstown/Miami East) recorded five points. 

Otterbein's Taylor Pifher made a layup to tie the game at 36 points in the opening seconds of the third quarter; the Cardinals recorded eight more points to take a 44-36 lead over the Raiders with 6:27 remaining in the quarter. Sanborn responded with four quick points coming from two layups to bring Mount Union within two points of Otterbein. Morrissette followed with a layup to tie the game at 44 points apiece, but it wasn't enough to ignite the spark the Raiders needed to regain the lead. 

The Raiders were outscored 16-11 in the fourth quarter, solidifying Otterbein's 67-57 win. 

Mount Union next hosts OAC opponent Marietta on Wednesday, Jan. 11 at 7:30 p.m. in the McPherson Academic and Athletic Complex.