Mount Union Wins Fourth Straight OAC Women's Golf Championship in Record Fashion

2019 OAC Women's Golf Champions -- Mount Union
2019 OAC Women's Golf Champions -- Mount Union

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ohio – Mount Union's biggest opponent may have been the weather, but the Purple Raiders went wire-to-wire in winning their fourth straight Ohio Athletic Conference Women's Golf Championship Sunday at River Greens Golf Club.

Rain cancelled Friday's opening round forcing the field to play 27 holes both Saturday and Sunday to compete the 54-hole event which gives Mount Union an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championships May 14-17 at Bay Oaks Golf Club in Houston, Texas.

The Raiders set an OAC tournament record with a 54-hole total of 993 (339-325-329) which was 47 shots clear of second place Capital.

Mount Union junior Rachel Markle (Solon) took home medalist honors as she shot a 241 (84-78-79) which was five shots ahead of Heidelberg's Autumn Simpson. It marks the fifth time and fourth Raider to win the conference's individual title.

Along with Markle, three other Mount Union players earned all-conference honors with top-14 finishes. Junior Morgan Stubbendieck (Akron / Hoban) was in third place with a 249 (82-83-84), senior Erica Mawhorr (Zanesville / West Muskingum) had a 254 (93-81-80) in seventh place and sophomore Emma Jeffries (Wooster) had a 259 (90-83-86) in a tie for 10th place.

Sophomore Brianna Potts (Apple Creek / Waynedale) completed the team scoring with a 262 (83-89-90) to place 15th.

2019 OAC Women's Golf Championships
River Greens - Par 73/5,811 yards

Team Scores
1. Mount Union 339-325-329=993, 2. Capital 349-346-345=1040, 3. Otterbein 344-339-363=1046, 4. Ohio Northern 352-357-356=1065, 5. Heidelberg 357-356-355=1068, 6. Baldwin Wallace 349-367-356=1072, 7. John Carroll 363-369-254=1086, 8. Marietta 381-374-366=1121.

ALL-OAC (Top 14 and ties)
1. Rachel Markle (MTU) 84-78-79=241, 2. Autumn Simpson (HEID) 86-81-79=246, 3. Morgan Stubbendieck (MTU) 82-83-84=249, T4. Kaitlyn Kinley (CAP) 77-85-88=250 and Sarah Beckwith (JCU) 82-85-83=250, 6. Anna Schatschneider (BW) 80-86-85=251, 7. Erica Mawhorr (MTU) 93-81-80=254, 8. Caitlyn Silva (ONU) 85-85-87=257, 9. Lydia Crammer 84-89-85=258, T10. Emma Jeffries (MTU) 90-83-86=259, and Meg Thomas (OTT) 87-85-87=259 and Abby Grospitch (OTT) 85-84-90=259, T13. Sydney Kelly (CAP) 93-85-82=260 and Madison Harsh (CAP) 90-85-85=260.