Mount Union to Host 2016 OAC Women's Golf Tournament April 29-May 1

Mount Union to Host 2016 OAC Women's Golf Tournament April 29-May 1

Friday-Sunday, April 29-May 1, 2016
River Greens Golf Course - West Lafayette, Ohio
Hosted by Mount Union

Mount Union will host the 2016 Ohio Athletic Conference Women's Golf Championships Friday, April 29 to Sunday, May 1 at River Greens Golf Course in West Lafayette, Ohio.

For the first time, the OAC Women's Golf Championship will be a 54-hole event with 18 holes each day over three days.

Otterbein won the 2015 OAC Championship in a playoff against Mount Union.  Both teams finished the two-day event with team scores 713 and Otterbein won the title and NCAA Tournament automatic bid on the first playoff hole.  It was a record ninth championship for the Cardinals.

For the third straight year and sixth time in seven years, an Otterbein women's golfer won Medalist honors as Bailey Pontius won the tournament with a score of 84-85=169.

Pontius is back this year along with all-conference selection Ann Jobko and Hannah Myers for Otterbein.

Mount Union brings back three members of its team from a year ago led by all-conference players Morgan Rector and Olivia DeMartino.

Ohio Northern placed third last year and brings back its top four from a year ago led by All-OAC pick Ariana Tomasula.

Katie Lease, who finished fourth overall a year ago to get All-OAC honors, leads a Capital team that was fourth last year.

John Carroll returns two all-conference players in Jackie Weisenberger and Michele Whiteleather while Laura Vidmar of Baldwin Wallace and Kerianne Murphy of Heidelberg are the other returning all-conference performers.

The top-14 finishers receive All-OAC honors.

Previous Champions

2015 Otterbein
2014 Baldwin Wallace
2013 Otterbein
2012 Baldwin Wallace
2011 Baldwin Wallace
2010 Otterbein
2009 Otterbein
2008 Otterbein
2007 Ohio Northern
2006 Otterbein
2005 Otterbein
2004 Otterbein
2003 Otterbein
2002 Mount Union
2001 Baldwin Wallace
2000 Baldwin Wallace

Previous Medalists

2015 Bailey Pontius (Otterbein)
2014 Marie McGinnis (Otterbein)
2013 Natalie Perry (Mount Union)
2012 Mary Snode (Mount Union)
2011 Catherine Brunoehler (Otterbein)
2010 Kelsey Tosca (Otterbein)
2009 Rustie Anderson (Otterbein)
2008 Amanda Shannon (John Carroll)
2007 Meagan Brennan (Ohio Northern)
2006 Kristin Becker (Otterbein)
2005 Colleen Groomes (Otterbein)
2004 Julie Huffman (Capital)
2003 Julie Huffman (Capital)
2002 Meghann Glass (Mount Union)
2001 Meghann Glass (Mount Union)
2000 Natalie Rishert (Baldwin Wallace)

Previous Coaches of the Year

2015 Dan MacDuffie (Mount Union) & Brian Booher (Otterbein)
2014 John Kapusta (Baldwin Wallace)
2013 Chad Bucci (Otterbein)
2012 Lindsay Reynolds (Capital) & Dan MacDuffie (Mount Union)
2011 Alyson Campbell (Baldwin Wallace)
2010 Mark Paluszak (Ottherbein)
2009 Nathanael Petry (Otterbein)
2008 Nathanael Petry (Otterbein)
2007 Stacey Hariston (Ohio Northern)
2006 Sharon Sexton (Otterbein)
2005 Sharon Sexton (Otterbein)
2004 Sharon Sims (Wilmington)
2003 Sharon Sexton (Otterbein)
2002 Sharon Sexton (Otterbein)
2001 Shawn Grimes (Mount Union)
2000 Mike Gallagher (Baldwin Wallace)

Tournament Records

Lowest 18-hole Individual Score

74 - Meagan Brennan (Ohio Northern) - 2nd round at Table Rock (Centerburg, Ohio) - 2007

Lowest 36-hole Individual Score

156 - Meghann Glass (Mount Union) at Pleasant View (Paris, Ohio) - 2002

Lowest 18-hole Individual Score at River Greens

81 - Rustie Anderson (Otterbein) - 2nd round - 2009

Lowest 36-hole Individual Score at River Greens

165 - Rustie Anderson (Otterbein) - 2009

Lowest 18-hole Team Score

322 - Otterbein - 2nd round at Majestic Springs (Wilmington, Ohio) - 2006

Lowest 36-hole Team Score

656 - Otterbein at Majestic Springs (Wilmington, Ohio) - 2006

Lowest 18-hole Team Score at River Greens

328 - Otterbein - 2nd round - 2009 

Lowest 36-hole Team Score at River Greens

665 - Otterbein - 2009