Women's Lacrosse: Raiders Defeat DePauw (Ind.) in Home Opener

Katherine Doraty (Photo by JT Higgins)
Katherine Doraty (Photo by JT Higgins)

ALLIANCE, Ohio—The Mount Union women's lacrosse team defeated DePauw (Ind.), 17-3, in a non-confernece matchup Saturday afternoon in Mount Union Stadium.

The Purple Raiders, now 3-2, were led by Katherine Doraty (Medina/Medina) with a game-high five goals while six other Raiders contributed scores. 

Taylor Summers led DePauw (1-3) with two goals while Maryclarie Heldring scored one.

In the first half of play, Mount Union surged out to a 3-0 lead within the first ten minutes of the game. Doraty scored a goal to give the Raiders their three goal advantage with 21:52 remaining in the half. The Tigers scored two unanswered goals to cut the lead down to one with 13:33 remaining in the half. From there, The Raiders answered back with an 8-0 run, with goals from Marjie McNamara (Champlin, Minn/ Champlin Park), Taylor Pensyl (Kent/Kent Roosevelt), and Emily Sendkler (Lancaster, N.Y. / Lancaster Central) to lead 10-2 at the half.

Mount Union continued to sustain and extend its lead to begin the second half. Katie Elder (Champlin, Minn. / Champlin Park) and Britt Klosterman(Centennial, Colo. / Arapahoe) each scored in the second half to help Mount Union in the effort. DePauw was held to only one goal in the second half, when Taylor Summers scored with 13:41 remaining in the game. The Raiders recorded 21 groundballs and six caused turnovers to seal the victory.

Mount Union is back in action on Monday, March 14th, as they travel to Muskingum to open OAC play. The game is scheduled for 5:00 p.m.

Women's Lacrosse Box Score (Final)

DePauw at Mount Union

(3/12/2016 at 1:00 PM at Alliance, OH (Mount Union Stadium))





DePauw (1-3, 0-0) at

Mount Union (3-2, 0-0)

Date: 3/12/2016, Attendance: 87


Mount Union







DePauw SCORING: GOALS: maryclaire heldring 1 ; taylor summers 2 . ASSISTS: elizabeth mccracken 1 .

Mount Union SCORING: GOALS: katherine doraty 5 ; taylor pensyl 3 ; marjie mcnamara 2 ; michelle tegethoff 1 ; katie elder 4 ; britt klosterman 1 ; emily sendker 1 .