Women's Lacrosse: Mount Union Earns Fourth Consecutive OAC Lacrosse Tournament Title

Mount Union won its fourth consecutive OAC Championship (Photo by Steven Kachilla).
Mount Union won its fourth consecutive OAC Championship (Photo by Steven Kachilla).

ALLIANCE, Ohio -- The #1 seeded Mount Union women's lacrosse team earned its fourth consecutive Ohio Athletic Conference Tournament Championship after defeating #2 seeded Baldwin Wallace in the OAC Tournament Finals Saturday night at Mount Union Stadium. 

With the win, the Purple Raiders improve to 13-3 overall and earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Tournament. 

Baldwin Wallace (13-4) was led by Jenna Turner, who scored three goals for the Yellow Jackets. Junior Katie Elder (Champlin, Minn./Champlin Park) led the Purple Raiders with four goals and an assist.

Sophomore Alyssa Rydell (Medina/Medina) got the Raiders on the board just over two minutes into the game. The Yellow Jackets tied the game at one at the 22:36 mark, but Rydell struck again just over a minute later to take a 2-1 lead. Baldwin Wallace's Jenna Turner responded with her second goal to tie the game with just over 12 minutes remaining in the half. 

The Raiders took a 3-2 lead after freshman Danielle Rohrman (Olney, Md./Sherwood) fed junior Britt Klosterman (Centennial, Colo./Arapahoe) the ball from the top of the eight-meter and Klosterman rolled the crease. 

Baldwin Wallace tabbed three unanswered goals in the final five minutes to lead 5-3 at the break.

Junior Katie Elder (Champlin, Minn./Champlin Park) scored back-to-back goals in the opening minutes of the second half to tie the game at five each. Rohrman followed with a goal of her own to regain the lead for the Raiders, 6-5, before Elder struck again to take a two goal lead. 

The Yellow Jackets scored two goals in a row to tie the game at seven, but Rohrman responded with a goal from a free position shot to take an 8-7 lead with 16:27 on the clock. Baldwin Wallace again tied it up six minutes later. 

Sophomore Ashley Bernardi (Medina/Medina) scored with just over eight minutes left in regulation, which was followed with goals by Elder and freshman Mackenzie Pensyl (Kent/Roosevelt) to give Mount Union an 11-8 lead that lasted through the remainder of the game. 

Up Next ... NCAA Tournament:

Mount Union claims the conference's automatic bid to the 40-team NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship. There are 29 conference champions that are automatic qualifiers, two spots reserved for independents or team's from non-automatic qualifying conferences and nine national at-large bids.

The selections will be announced Sunday, May 7 at 9:30 p.m. in an online selection show at NCAA.com. There will be eight first round games on Saturday, May 13 at 1 p.m. and 16 second round games on Sunday, May 14 at 1 p.m. at campus sites.