Women's Lacrosse: Raiders Well Represented on All-OAC Teams

Women's Lacrosse: Raiders Well Represented on All-OAC Teams

AUSTINTOWN, Ohio -- Mount Union had eight players earn all-conference honors and claimed three special awards on the 2018 All-Ohio Athletic Conference Women's Lacrosse teams as selected by the conference's nine head coaches.

The three special awards include sophomore Mimi Curtis (Lititz, Pa. / Manheim Township) being named OAC Goalkeeper of the Year, freshman defender Brenna Duke (Hollywood, Md. / Leonardtown) being named OAC Rookie of the Year while sixth year head coach Emily Fisher earned OAC Coach of the Year honors for a second time.

Curtis led the OAC and was third in the nation in goals against average at 5.52 game while her Duke helped lead a defense that is third in the nation in scoring defense at 5.00 goals per game.

Fisher brought the Purple Raiders their fifth straight OAC regular season and tournament titles while Mount Union is making its fifth straight NCAA Tournament appearance this weekend. She has a 95-13 overall record including a 31-2 record in OAC games. It is the second time she has won the award as she got the award in 2015.

Curtis is one of four on the All-OAC First Team along with junior Ashley Bernardi (Medina), sophomore Danielle Rohrman (Olney, Md. / Sherwood) and senior Britt Klosterman (Centennial, Colo. / Arapahoe). Bernardi leads the OAC with a school single-season record 122 points, Rohrman was fourth in the conference with 92 points and had a team-best 107 draw controls with 51 ground balls while Klosterman had 44 ground balls.

Duke was one of three on the All-OAC Second Team with senior Marjie McNamara (Champlin, Minn. / Champlin Park) and junior Megan Ronceray (Long Valley, N.J. / West Morris Central) while senior Katie Elder (Champlin, Minn. / Champlin Park) and Kenzie Pensyl (Kent / Roosevelt) were honorable mention selections.

Mount Union is currently 17-0 overall (8-0 OAC) and plays #5 Mary Washington (Va.) Sunday, May 13 in the second round of the NCAA Tournament.