Mount Union Names Wrestling Captains For 2010-11

Mark Hawald enters his fourth year as Mount Union head wrestling coach in 2010.
Mark Hawald enters his fourth year as Mount Union head wrestling coach in 2010.

ALLIANCE, Ohio--University of Mount Union head wrestling coach Mark Hawald has named senior Bill Schindel (Tallmadge/Akron Hoban) along with juniors Derick Hesson (Dexter City/Caldwell), Andy Jenkins (Stow/Woodridge) and Josh Malave (Cleveland/Rocky River Lutheran West) as team captains for the 2010-11 season.

"This is the first time I have named captains in my four seasons at Mount Union," commented Hawald, entering his fourth season at Mount Union. " I felt it was important this season to establish leadership with the team and all four of these men have been OAC finalists and are natural leaders."

Schindel is a two-time Ohio Athletic Conference champion and two-time All-American at 197 pounds.  He has 53 wins in two years at Mount Union and has won five college tournaments.

Hesson was third in the OAC as a freshman and earned All-OAC honors with an OAC second place finish last season at 285 pounds.

Jenkins finished second in the OAC and was All-OAC at 174 pounds as a freshman, then was third in the conference last year at 184.

Malave was third in the OAC as a freshman and last year was second and All-OAC at 141 pounds.  

"I hope this responsibility will help each of them achieve their goals of becoming NCAA All-Americans and build toward our team's goal of winning the conference and placing in the top ten at the NCAA Tournament," stated Hawald.

Mount Union begins the 2010-11 season Saturday, Nov. 13 at the Washington & Jefferson Open in Washington, Pa.