#9 Wrestling Places Fifth at Wheaton (Ill.) Invitational; Raiders Second-Best D-III Team in Field

#9 Wrestling Places Fifth at Wheaton (Ill.) Invitational; Raiders Second-Best D-III Team in Field

WHEATON, Ill. -- No. 9 ranked Mount Union posted six placewinners to finish in fifth place at the Pete Willson Invite this weekend at Wheaton (Ill.) College in suburban Chicago.

The Purple Raiders 92.5 points made them the second-best NCAA Division III team in the 32-team field as only No. 2 ranked Wisconsin-LaCrosse placed ahead of them with 109.5 points in second place. 

NAIA Lindenwood (Mo.) won the event with 131 points while NCAA Division II teams Wisconsin-Parkside (102.5) and Indianapolis (100.5) were in third and fourth respectively.

Mount Union got a pair of second place finishes from No. 3 ranked Bill Schindel (Tallmadge/Akron Hoban) at 197 and No. 6 ranked Riki Reynolds (Marion/Pleasant) at 125.  Schindel had a pair of major decisions and pair of technical falls to get to the title match before taking his first loss of the season, while Reynolds took a narrow 3-2 loss in the finals.

Other top finishes for the Raiders included a fourth place finish from Josh Malave (Rocky River/Lutheran West) at 141, Andy Jenkins (Stow/Woodridge) placed sixth at 184, Joe Spooner (Willoughby/Willoughby South) placed seventh at 157 and Kevin Shadrach (Parma/Parma) finished eighth at 149.

Mount Union is back on the mat Tuesday, Feb. 1 at Heidelberg for a key Ohio Athletic Conference dual.  Heidelberg is the defending conference champion, while Mount Union has placed second each of the last two years.  The match will start at 7:30 pm in Tiffin.

Team Standings

1. Lindenwood (Mo.) 131, 2. Wis.-LaCrosse 109.5, 3. Wis.-Parkside 102.5, 4. Indianapolis 100.5, 5. Mount Union 92.5, 6. Trine (Ind.) 84, 7. Olivet (Mich.) 80.5, 8. Elmhurst (Ill.), 9. Wis.-Whitewater 61.5, 10. North Central (Ill.) 58.5, 11. Wabash (Ind.) 12. Heidelberg 55.5, 13. Ohio Northern 54.5, 14. Augustana (Ill.) 43.0, 15. Elizabethtown (Pa.) 37.0, 16. Messiah (Pa.) and Wis.-Oshkosh 35, 18. Lakeland (Wis.) 31.5, 19. Manchester (Ind.) 27.5, 20. Case Western Reserve 26, 21. Milwaukee School of Engineering 23.5, 22. Muskingum 23, 23. John Carroll and Mount St. Joseph 22, 25. Chicago (Ill.) 18.5, 26. Wis.-Platteville 16.5, 27. Wheaton (Ill.) 16.0, 28. Wis.-Eau Claire 13.5, 29. Morrisville State (N.Y.), 30. Concordia (Wis.) 6.0, 31. Knox (Ill.) 5.5, 32. Maranatha Baptist (Wis.) 0.  

#6 Riki Reynolds (MTU) pinned Francisco Munoz (KNOX), 3:38

Reynolds (MTU) dec. Sean Tomac (NCC), 6-3

Reynolds (MTU) dec. Josh Boyer (WAB), 9-3

Reynolds (MTU) dec. Will Bentley (ETOWN), 8-7

Alex Johns (INDY) dec. Reynolds (MTU), 3-2 (FIRST PLACE MATCH)



Colin Dennis (MTU) pinned Neil Mannus (UWEC), 3:27

Ethan Harris (INDY) dec. Dennis (MTU), 5-4

Dennis (MTU) dec. Frankie Acosta (CHI), 7-4

Jake Denhof (ELM) dec. Dennis (MTU), forfeit



Josh Malave (MTU) dec. Arik Yide (UWPK), 7-4

Malave (MTU) dec. Robby Frias (LAKE), 3-2

Bebeto Yewah (UWL) maj. dec. Malave (MTU), 16-3

Malave (MTU) dec. Greg Ryan (JCU), 4-2

Malave (MTU) dec. Vince Tucker (OC), 3-2

Derrick Weller (LIN) dec. Malave (MTU), 3-1 (THIRD PLACE MATCH)



Kevin Shadrach (MTU) pinned Joe Conrad (MSJ), 3:51

#1 Isaac Dukes (CWRU) maj. dec. Shadrach (MTU), 10-2

Shadrach (MTU) maj. dec. AJ Johnson (HEID), 13-4

Matt Mauseth (UWL) dec. Shadrach (MTU), 5-4

Cade Sarbacker (UWW) dec. Shadrach (MTU), 3-2 (SEVENTH PLACE MATCH)



Tommy Fehring (MSJ) dec. Joe Spooner (MTU), 7-4

Spooner (MTU) dec. Jeffrey Weiss (INDY), forfeit

Spooner (MTU) pinned Joby Bodi (NCC), 4:58

Spooner (MTU) dec. JR Lewis (UWL), 7-3

Spooner (MTU) maj. dec. Virgil Pope (MSOE), 14-4

Tommy Fehring (MSJ) dec. Spooner (MTU), 9-7

Spooner (MTU) dec. Steve Mena (OC), forfeit (SEVENTH PLACE MATCH)



John Piechuta (MTU) dec. Jason Bonham (NCC), 5-3

Jasmes Myers (OC) tech fall Piechuta (MTU), 16-1

Piechuta (MTU) dec. Yousef Al-Ghoul (ELM), 7-4

Piechuta (MTU) dec. Sean Gill (JCU), 3-2

Jordan Graham (AUG) dec. Piechuta (MTU), 4-3



Jeremy Hathaway (MTU) dec. Greg Schroeder (NCC), 6-2

Chris Chionuma (LIN) pinned Hathaway (MTU), :20

Hathaway (MTU) maj. dec. Nick Dobbs (UWP), 18-5

Hathaway (MTU) dec. Keith Dawson (UWEC), 6-0

Frank Savegnago (ELM) dec. Hathaway (MTU), 4-2



Andy Jenkins (MTU) dec. Nolan Karwoski (MSJ), 9-7

Jenkins (MTU) maj. dec. Bryan Steinmetz (JCU), 10-2

Jenkins (MTU) dec. Sam Engeland (UWO), 5-4

Justin Marble (WHE) dec. Jenkins (MTU), 4-3

Joe Rau (ELM) dec. Jenkins (MTU), 6-2

Tim Stewart (MESS) dec. Jenkins (MTU), 6-3 (FIFTH PLACE MATCH)



#3 Bill Schindel (MTU) maj. dec. Jason Russell (HEID), 14-0

Schindel (MTU) maj. dec. Luke Ortschled (UWEC), 18-4

Schindel (MTU) tech fall Aaron Erickson (UWO), 19-2

Schindel (MTU) teach fall Curtis Hines (UWPS), 17-2

Deron Winn (LIN) dec. Schindel (MTU), 8-2 (FIRST PLACE MATCH)



Billy Mayer (UWL) maj. dec. Derick Hesson (MTU), 10-0

Hesson (MTU) dec. Sean Brooks (MSJ), 7-2

Hesson (MTU) dec. Ryan Hatten (CHI), 4-3

James Zarate (UWW) dec. Hesson (MTU), 3-1