#8 Wrestling Claims OAC Regular Season Title

#8 Wrestling Claims OAC Regular Season Title

ALLIANCE, Ohio -- The No. 8 ranked University of Mount Union wrestling team clinched the outright Ohio Athletic Conference regular season title with a 37-6 victory over Baldwin-Wallace at the McPherson Academic and Athletic Complex on Tuesday.

The Purple Raiders are the nation's only undefeated team at 14-0 overall and 6-0 in the OAC.

Mount Union won 8 of 9 contested matches against the Yellow Jackets (11-9, 4-2).

Kevin Shadrach (Parma/Parma), who recorded the only Mount Union pin, was among six Raiders who finished with undefeated records in OAC regular season action.

Shadrach defeated Andrew Taylor in 4:02 to improve to 6-0 in OAC matches.

Other Raiders who claimed their sixth win were Riki Reynolds (Marion/Marion Pleasant), Josh Malave (Rocky River/Lutheran West) and Derick Hesson (Dexter City/Caldwell). Bill Schindel (Tallmadge/Akron Hoban) improved to 5-0 and Andy Jenkins (Stow/Woodridge) went to 4-0.

Schindel, ranked fourth nationally at 197, and Jenkins, at 184, handled previously unbeaten opponents.

Schindel worked his way to a 10-1 major decision over Tristan Stoll while Jenkins outlasted Joe Georgian for a 5-3 decision.

Reynolds, ranked fourth at 125, Malave, ranked ninth at 141, and Hesson, at 285, recorded major decision victories for the Raiders.

Colin Dennis (North Ridgeville/Lutheran West) and Joe Spooner (Willoughby/Willoughby South) added decisions at 133 and 157, respectively.


Individual Matches
125 - Riki Reynolds (Mount Union) MD Jeremy Dombrady, 14-3
133 - Colin Dennis (Mount Union) DEC Phillip Payne, 11-9
141 - Josh Malave (Mount Union) MD Grant Steward, 16-3
149 - Kevin  Shadrach (Mount Union) FALL Andrew Taylor, 4:01
157 - Joe Spooner (Mount Union) DEC Korey Leonhard, 12-8
165 - John Piechuta (Mount Union) by forfeit
174 - Andrew Scavuzzo (Baldwin-Wallace) FALL Jeremy Hathaway, 2:07
184 - Andy Jenkins (Mount Union) DEC Joseph Georgian, 5-3
197 - Bill Schindel (Mount Union) MD Tristan Stoll, 10-1
285 - Derick Hesson (Mount Union) MD Ryan Jones, 9-1