Mount Union Wins OAC Wrestling Championship; Five Purple Raiders Claim Individual Titles

Mount Union Wins OAC Wrestling Championship; Five Purple Raiders Claim Individual Titles

ADA — No. 8-ranked Mount Union won the 2011 Ohio Athletic Conference Wrestling Championships Saturday at the ONU Sports Center.

The victory was the 11th in program history and the first for the Purple Raiders since 1997.

It also snapped a string of five consecutive team titles for Heidelberg, who finished second.

Ohio Northern senior Luke Miller was named the John Summa OAC Most Oustanding Wrestler and Mark Hawald of Mount Union was named the OAC Coach of the Year.

Mount Union won the championship with 95.5 points, Heidelberg was second with 76 and No. 14 Ohio Northern was third with 68 points.

Baldwin-Wallace finished fourth with 49, John Carroll was fifth with 48, Muskingum was sixth with 12.5 points and Wilmington was seventh with 12 points.

The Purple Raiders won five of the 10 weight classes and had seven wrestlers reach the finals to earn All-Conference honors.

The 10 weight class champions and one at-large selection earn an automatic bid to the 2011 NCAA Division III Championships March 11-12 in LaCrosse, Wis.

At 125 pounds, Mount Union sophomore Riki Reynolds (Marion/Marion Pleasant) won his second consecutive OAC crown. Reynolds, top-seeded and No. 4 ranked nationally, won by fall in 1:56 over John Carroll sophomore John Cobos in the finals.

Reynolds will ender the NCAA Championships with the OAC's automatic bid at 125 pounds with a 23-6 record.

No. 9-ranked junior Josh Malave (Rocky River/Lutheran West) of Mount Union won the OAC title at 141 pounds after finishing runner-up in 2010.

Malave, the top seed in the weight class, edged third-seeded junior Greg Ryan of John Carroll 2-1 in the finals to improve to 30-6 on the season and advance automatically to the NCAA Championships.

Second-seeded junior Mick Letcher of Ohio Northern defeated top-seeded junior Joe Spooner (Willoughby/Willoughby South) of Mount Union at 149 pounds by an 11-7 decision at 157 pounds.

Letcher wins his first OAC title and advances to the NCAA Championships with a 28-7 record.

Top-seeded junior Andy Jenkins (Stow/Woodridge) improved to 23-11 on the year and won the 184-pound weight class title with a 7-1 decision over sophomore No. 2-seed Kyle Raber of ONU.

Top-seeded senior and No. 4-ranked Bill Schindel (Tallmadge/Akron Hoban) of Mount Union won his third consecutive OAC title at 197 pounds. He defeated second-seeded senior Tristan Stoll of BW 10-1 by major decision in the finals.

A two-time All-American, Schindel will advance to the NCAAs with a sparkling 26-1 record.

At heavyweight, top-seeded junior Derick Hesson (Dexter City/Caldwell) defeated second-seeded junior Jerry Knapp of Heidelberg 7-3 to win the OAC title. Hesson, an All-OAC honoree as runner-up in 2010, is now 26-7 on the season.

The 10 league runners-up also earn All-Conference honors including Purple Raiders' Kevin Shadrach (Parma/Parma) at 149 and Joe Spooner (Willoughby/Willoughby South) at 157.

Mount Union Individual Results


#1 Riki Reynolds (MTU) bye
#1 Riki Reynolds (MTU) dec. #4 Donny Herrington (WILM), 9-2 – semifinals
#1 Riki Reynolds (MTU) pinned John Cobos (JCU), 1:56 – finals


#2 Colin Dennis (MTU) pinned Josh Cioca (WILM), 2:40
#3 Phil Payne (B-W) dec. #2 Colin Dennis (MTU), 5-4 – semifinals
#2 Colin Dennis (MTU) dec. #5 Kevin Nycz (JCU), 3-0 – cons. semifinals
#2 Colin Dennis (MTU) dec. #6 Jeremy Jones (ONU) 4-3 – third place match


#1 Josh Malave (MTU) bye
#1 Josh Malave (MTU) dec. Chris Osborne (BERG), 4-1 – semifinals
#1 Josh Malave (MTU) dec. #3 Greg Ryan (JCU), 2-1 – finals


#1 Kevin Shadrach (MTU) pinned Kenneth Poland (MUSK), 2:06
#1 Kevin Shadrach (MTU) dec. #4 Kenny Locsei (JCU), 4-2 – semifinals
#3 Andrew Johnson (BERG) win by default #1 Kevin Shadrach (MTU) – finals


#1 Joe Spooner (MTU) bye
#1 Joe Spooner (MTU) dec. #4 Korey Leonard (B-W), 3-1 – semifinals
#2 Michael Letcher (ONU) dec. #1 Joe Spooner (MTU), 11-7 – finals


#2 Matt Curley (BERG) dec. #3 John Piechuta (MTU), 6-2 – semifinals
#4 Sean Gill (JCU) dec. #3 John Piechuta (MTU), 10-4 – cons. semifinals


#4 Dayne Williams (BERG) pinned #5 Chad Teague (MTU), 1:27
#3 Todd Gaydosh (JCU) pinned #5 Chad Teague (MTU), 5:24 – cons. semifinals


#1 Andy Jenkins (MTU) bye
#1 Andy Jenkins (MTU) maj. dec. #4 Daniel Dunn (MUSK), 10-2 – semifinals
#1 Andy Jenkins (MTU) dec. #2 Kyle Raber (ONU), 8-1 – finals


#1 Bill Schindel (MTU) bye
#1 Bill Schindel (MTU) pinned Jason Russell (BERG), :56 – semifinals
#1 Bill Schindel (MTU) major dec. #2 Tristan Stoll (B-W), 10-1 – finals


#1 Derick Hesson (MTU) bye
#1 Derick Hesson (MTU) pinned #5 Ryan Jones (B-W), 4:43 – semifinals
#1 Derick Hesson (MTU) dec. #2 Jerry Knapp (BERG), 7-3