#30 Wrestling Wins Over Niagara County Community College At Home, 28-9

#30 Wrestling Wins Over Niagara County Community College At Home, 28-9

ALLIANCE, Ohio -- No. 30 ranked Mount Union's wrestling team scored a 28-9 win over Niagara County Community College Saturday Jan. 19th at the McPherson Academic and Athletic Complex.

With its win, the Purple Raiders improve to 5-2 overall and 1-0 in the OAC.

The Raiders won seven out of 10 contested matches and got two major decisions from junior Nick Rajcsak (Stow/Stow) winning 10-2 at 197 over Niagara Community College Gunner Thomas and sophomore Bryant Roby winning 13-5 over Niagara Community College Nic Rider.

The Raiders freshman Jeremy Border (Caldwell/Caldwell) at 133 and senior Nick Terifaj (Brook Park/Strongsville) at 285 both recorded pins at 4:06 over Barney Prince and 6:01 over Max Antone respectively.

The Raiders got three decisions from junior Brad Kress (Louisville/Louisville) at 125, Tyler Johnston (Lyndhurst/Brush) at 149 and sophomore Jon Garrison (Fairlawn/Copley) at 157.

The Timberwolves (4-1) got three decisions from sophomore trio Kris Schimek at 165, John Brabon at 174 and Dustin Moss at 184.

Mount Union hosts Purple Raider Open., Sunday Jan. 20th at 10:00 am at the MAAC.

#30 Mount Union 28, NCCC 9

Match Summary 

125 – Brad Kress (Mount Union) won by  decision over Cody Carbery  (NCCC)  9-4
133 – Jeremy Border (Mount Union) pinned Barney Prince (NCCC) 4:06
141 – Bryant Roby (Mount Union) won by  major decision over Nic Rider (NCCC) 13-5
149 – Tyler Johnston (Mount Union)  won by decision over Barry Hart (NCCC) 6-0
157 – Jon Garrison (Mount Union) won by decision over Irvin Buck (NCCC) 6-0
165 – Kris Schimek (NCCC) won by decision over Joe Schindel (Mount Union) 8-3
174 – John Brabon (NCCC) won by decision over Brogan Endres (Mount Union) 5-3
184 – Dustin Moss (NCCC) won by decision over Joe Monroe (Mount Union) 6-4
197 – Nick Rajcsak (Mount Union) won by major decision over Gunner Thomas (NCCC) 10-2
285 – Nick Terifaj (Mount Union) pinned Max Antone (NCCC) 6:01