Wrestling: #29 Mount Union Wins Third Straight OAC Title After Beating Muskingum 40-7

Senior Nick Terifaj
Senior Nick Terifaj

ALLIANCE, Ohio -- No. 29 ranked Mount Union's wrestling won over Muskingum in an Ohio Athletic Conference dual Tuesday, February 12th, 40-7 at the McPherson Academic and Athletic Complex.

With the win the Purple Raiders share the OAC Title with Ohio Northern and Heidelberg, the Raiders finish the regular season at 8-3 overall and 4-1 in the OAC.

The Raiders won five out of seven contested matches highlighted by a pin from junior Brad Kress (Louisville/Louisville) who pinned freshman Ahmad Taylor 0:55 at 125 and a pin from senior Nick Terifaj (Strongsville/Strongsville) who pinned freshman Bass Conway 1:32 at 285.

Mount Union picked up a major decision from senior Jeremy Regula (Dundee/Claymont) who won over freshman Skylar Caldwell 13-1 at 165.  The Raiders also picked up two decisions from junior Tyler Johnston (Lyndhurst/Brush) 9-7 in 1 overtime period over Garland McCormick at 149-pounds and sophomore Brent Kirk (Adena/Buckeye Local) 6-1 over Mitchell King at 174.

Mount Union had three forfeit wins with freshman Jeremy Border (Caldwell/Caldwell) at 133, freshman Jordan Judy (Clayton, Ind./Danville) at 141 and sophomore Jon Garrison (Fairlawn/Copley) at 157.

Muskingum (0-14, 0-5 OAC) won two contested matches when freshman Rusty Lockhart won by major decision over freshman Brian Deming (Madison/Perry) 10-1 at 184 and junior Luke Weber won by decision over freshman Lucas Dies (Akron/Manchester) 12-11 at 197.

Mount Union travels to the NCAA Division III Mideast Regionals held on the campus of Ohio Northern Saturday, March 2nd in Ada, Ohio.

#29 Mount Union 40, Muskingum 7

Match Summary 

125 – Brad Kress (Mount Union) won by pin over Ahmad Taylor (Muskingum)   0:55
133 – Jeremy Border (Mount Union) won by forfeit
141 – Jordan Judy (Mount Union) won by forfeit
149 – Tyler Johnston (Mount Union) won by decision over Garland McCormick (Muskingum) 9-7 1 OT
157 – Jon Garrison (Mount Union) won by forfeit
165 – Jeremy Regula (Mount Union) won by major decision over Skylar Caldwell (Muskingum) 13-1
174 – Brent Kirk (Mount Union)  won by decision over Micthell King (Muskingum) 6-1
184 – Rusty Lockhart (Muskingum) won by major decision over Brian Deming (Mount Union) 10-1
197 – Luke Weber (Muskingum) won by decision over Lucas Dies (Mount Union) 12-11
285 – Nick Terifaj (Mount Union) won by pin over  Bass Conway (Muskingum) 1:32