Mount Union to Host 2013 OAC Track & Field Championships Friday and Saturday

Mount Union to Host 2013 OAC Track & Field Championships Friday and Saturday

2013 Ohio Athletic Conference Track & Field Championships Meet Preview

by Lindsay Miller, OAC Information Director

Mount Union will host the 2013 Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) Men's and Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Friday-Saturday, April 26-27 at Mount Union Stadium in Alliance.

Friday's competition will start at noon and Saturday's will begin at 10 a.m. Nine OAC schools will compete for the league title. 

Tickets are $10 for a two-day pass, $7 for a one-day pass, $5 for seniors per day, non-OAC students are $2 and OAC students are FREE with ID.

The top three relay teams and individuals earn All-OAC honors for the 2013 season.

Mount Union swept both the men's and women's championship titles a year ago.

The Mount Union men won their second consecutive and 29th overall title with 143 points, which bested second place Baldwin Wallace (115) by 28 points. Ohio Northern finished third with 112, while Heidelberg (98) and Marietta (93) rounded out the top five.

Mount Union will look to preserve its title with the returns of three individual champions; juniors Sam Ludgood (Webster, N.Y./Webster Schroeder), in the triple jump (47-03.75), Chase Swisher (Lewis Center/Olentangy Orange) in the100 meter dash (10.95) and Alex Kovalik (Aurora) in the javelin (180-04).

Six additional individual champions will look to defend their titles; Muskingum senior Chase Addy (Newcomerstown) in the pole vault (15.07.00), John Carroll senior Mike Minjock (Seven Hills/St. Ignatius ) in the long jump (24-05.75), Marietta junior Ryan Jordan-Lopez (Beachwood/St. Peter Chanel) in the 110-meter hurdles (14.67) and senior Caleb Muller (Columbus/Bexley) in the 5,000-meter run (15:00.44), Wilmington junior Christian Patterson (Cincinnati/Norwood) in the high jump (6-11.00) and Ohio Northern senior Michael Simmons (Columbus/St. Charles)in the 3,000-meter steeplechase (9:22.62).

On the women's side, the Purple Raiders secured their third-straight and fourth overall conference title with 146 points, 45 points ahead of second place Baldwin Wallace (101). Marietta place third with 98 points, followed by Capital with 90 points and Ohio Northern with 79.50.

The Purple Raiders will look to defend their crown with the help of senior Mary Mahoney (Ashtabula/St. John & Paul), who for a second straight year won 200 and 400 meter titles and garnered OAC Sprint Athlete of the Meet honors in 2012.

Mount Union will also return junior Emily Mazzaferri (Canton/GlenOak), who won the 800-meter run (2:16.73).

Four more individual champions will return to preserve their titles; Heidelberg senior Marian Bevington (Celina/Parkway)in the 100-meter hurdles (14.77), Muskingum junior Tanisha Ford (Conneaut) in the hammer throw (150-11.00), John Carroll sophomore Emily Mapes (Minerva) in the 3,000-meter steeplechase (11:00.24) and Ohio Northern senior Alison Steinbrunner (New Carlisle / Tecumseh) with an OAC record in the 5,000-meter run (17:32.70). 

Mount Union swept OAC Coaching Staff of the Year honors.