Women's Track and Field: Purple Raiders Win All-Ohio Title

Women's Track and Field: Purple Raiders Win All-Ohio Title

WESTERVILLE, Ohio – The Mount Union women's indoor track and field team won the team title at the All-Ohio Championships Saturday at Otterbein University in Westerville.

The Purple Raiders avenged last year's lost to host Otterbein. This year the Purple Raiders scored a 14.75-point win 119.5-104.75 in the event.

Freshman Kenadee Wayt (Wheeling, W.Va. / Wheeling Central Catholic) finished second in the 60-meter with a time of 7.80 tying her for 12th in the nation.

The Raiders had five other second place finishes from sophomore Lily Bogunovich (Alliance / Marlington) in the 400-meter (59.64), juniors Sabrina Stocker (Madison) in the 60-meter hurdles (9.10) Brit McCauley (Ontario) with a time of 10:31.91 in the 3,000 and Kennady Gibbins (Navarre / Fairless) in the pentathlon (3,164), and Wayt in 200-meter (26.06).

Mount Union also piled up five third place finishes from seniors Sarah Mason (Alliance / Marlington) in the 800 meters (2:17.83), Katie Durisin (Painesville / Riverside) in the mile (5:06.97), sophomore Bri Aveni (Geneva) in the pole vault (11-feet, 11.75-inches), freshman Micah Donley (Carrollton) in the 400 (59.83) and the 4x400 meter relay team of Mason, sophomore Michaelina Terranova (North Jackson / Jackson-Milton) and freshmen Ashley Huntley (Sandusky / St. Marys Central Catholic) and Megan Wertz (Canton / Glen Oak) (4:10.04).

Mount Union hosts the Raider Tune-Up next Saturday at Peterson Fieldhouse before the Ohio Athletic Conference Championships on Feb. 28-29 at Marietta College.

All-Ohio Indoor Track and Field Championships
Clements Center – Otterbein University – Westerville, Ohio

Team Scores

1. Mount Union 119.5, 2. Otterbein 104.75, 3. John Carroll 73, 3. Baldwin Wallace 74, 5. Ohio Wesleyan 60, 6. Oberlin 58.5, 7. Wittenberg 42, 8. Ohio Northern 32.5, 9. Case Western 29, 10. Capital 24, 11. Heidelberg 23, 12. Kenyon 19, 13. Marietta 16.75, 14. Definace 8, 14. Wooster 8, 16. Bluffton 6, 17. Muskingum 2, 18. Wilmington (Ohio) 1