Volleyball: Four Grab All-OAC Honors; Mastroine Selected as Libero of the Year

Volleyball: Four Grab All-OAC Honors; Mastroine Selected as Libero of the Year
#3 Sarah Schleich, All-OAC Honorable Mention, #4 Lauren Mastroine, All-OAC Second Team and Libero of the Year, #12 Taylor Webb, All-OAC First Team, #17 Nicole Snyder, All-OAC First team

AUSTINTOWN, Ohio - Mount Union's women's volleyball team, ranked No. 10 in the nation, had four players named to the All-Ohio Athletic Conference teams announced Saturday, November 9.

Senior Taylor Webb (Geneva/Geneva) and junior Nicole Snyder (Mentor/Lake Catholic) were All-OAC First Team selections, junior Lauren Mastroine (Orrville/Orrville) was named OAC Libero of the Year and also to the All-OAC Second Team while junior Sarah Schleich (Westfield Center/Cloverleaf) was an All-OAC honorable mention selection.

Webb leads the Raiders and was third in the OAC with 352 kills (3.17 kills per set) while Snyder is second on the team and fifth in the conference with 290 kills (2.79 kills per set) and digs with 275 (2.64 per set). 

Mastroine leads the team and the OAC in both digs with 723 (6.29 per set) and service aces with 42 and Schleich tops the team and is fifth in the conference in assists with 703 (6.11 per set). 

The quartet has led Mount Union this season to a second straight OAC regular season title and second OAC Tournament title in three seasons.  The Purple Raiders play next week in the NCAA Volleyball Tournament. 

2013 All-Ohio Athletic Conference Volleyball Teams:

First Team:

Taylor Webb – Mount Union
Nicole Snyder – Mount Union
Tabatha Piper - Otterbein
Annie Juenger - Otterbein
Amber Welfle – Heidelberg
Kit O'Shaughnessy – John Carroll

Second Team:

Kristen Sessler – Ohio Northern
Sarah Parker - Heidelberg
Kim Barker - Otterbein
Lauren Mastroine – Mount Union
Claire Heitkamp – Ohio Northern
Sarah Orlandi – John Carroll

Honorable Mention:

Sara Kaminski – John Carroll
Ellie Gillespie – Ohio Northern
Heather Saunier – Ohio Northern
Katie Weilbacher – Capital
Alexa Frank - Heidelberg
Sarah Schleich – Mount Union
Hanna Ewart - Capital

Player of the Year - Amber Welfle, Heidelberg
Freshman of the Year - Kit O'Shaughnessy, John Carroll
Libero of the Year - Lauren Mastroine, Mount Union
Coach of the Year - Jason Miller, Heidelberg