Men's Track & Field: Troyer's Career Best Helps #20 Mount Union to Wooster Invite Title

Connor Troyer (photo by Joe Colon)
Connor Troyer (photo by Joe Colon)

WOOSTER, Ohio -- Sophomore Connor Troyer (Sugarcreek/Garaway) set a stadium record with a career-best mark in the 110 meter hurdles to lead No. 20 ranked Mount Union to the men's team title at the Wooster Track & Field Invitational Saturday.

Troyer won the event with a career-best time of 14.54 that set a new stadium record and is the second best time in the nation in NCAA Division III so far this season.

Two other NCAA provisional marks came from a pair of event wins from freshmen Matt Keim (Bolivar / Tuscarawas Valley) in the pole vault and Sean Sherman (Franklin / Bishop Fenwick) in the shot put.

Keim posted a mark of 15-feet, 7.25-inches which won the event and is second nationally while Sherman had a throw of 53-feet, 4.5-inches that stands fifth in the nation.

The Purple Raiders got three other event wins on the day as freshman Josh Perry (Cuyahoga Falls/Cuyahoga Falls) in the 200 meters (22.53), senior Raphael Tshikala (Rochester, N.Y. /Greece Olympia) won the triple jump (42-11.75) and the 4x100 meter relay team of sophomore Louis Berry (Pittsburgh, Pa. / Shady Side Academy), senior Andrew Shrewsbury (Woodville / Woodmore), junior Jalen McGill (Laurel, Md. / High Point) and Troyer with a time of 42.45.

Mount Union got second place finishes from sophomore Colten Trimble (Hookstown, Pa. / South Side Beaver) in the 1500 meters, freshman Mason Plant (Shreve / Triway) in the 110 meter hurdles, AJ Digby (Tontogany / Otsego) in the 800 meters and Josiah Ross (Beloit / West Branch) in the 400 meter hurdles.

The Raiders tallied 227.50 points to finish 106.5 ahead of second place Walsh (121).

Mount Union next hosts the John Homon Open Friday and Saturday, April 7-8 at Mount Union Stadium. 

Wooster Invitational 

Team Scores

1. Mount Union 227.5, 2. Walsh 121, 3. Ohio Wesleyan (107.5), 4. Mount Vernon Nazarene 87, 5. Oberlin (43), 6. Wooster (34), 7. John Carroll 32, 8. Ashland 18, 9. Notre Dame (Ohio) 16, 10. Kenyon 15, 11. Earlham (Ind.) 14, 12. Denison 3.